Health can be Simple

The last few months, I have not been using shampoo and conditioner and for that matter, i haven’t been using deodorant either.  I’m sure that got a few eye brow raises.  You’re probably thinking, oh god she’s got to stink and look so greasy!

You know what, I don’t.  I haven’t smelled bad at all.  I’ve been using coconut oil as “deodorant.”  I got tired of rubbing aluminum under my armpits along with countless chemicals.  Have you ever read the ingredients list on your deodorant?  Wow!

Now as for my hair, I’ve tried the no poo method.  And I’ll say it doesn’t work for everyone but, it works great for me.  I got my hair done on Saturday and was told I didn’t even need a cut because I had virtually no split ends.  How bout that.  Using no terrible chemicals and yet, my hair turns out so much better.

For those that don’t know what “no poo” means, it’s traditionally using baking soda to wash your hair and apple cider vinegar to rinse your hair.  They become your shampoo and conditioner.  Although, if you do want to try this method I warn you that usually the first  1-2 weeks you usually end up either very oily or very dry as your body regulates the amount of natural oils it puts in your hair.

I’ve come to the conclusion that, my body probably knows better than I do what it needs so, I’ve decided to let it regulate its self.  These are just two small steps I’m taking towards being more healthy.

What are you doing to be a better you?

Leave a Reply

