Change

While I’m continuing to do my challenge of doing anything I don’t want to, I’d like to change the subject in this post but, I’ll still keep everyone updated at the end of the week as to how my challenge went.  Today I just want to talk about change.

Everyone is afraid of change to some degree.  Change means uncertainty and the unknown.  Change, is different, we don’t know what to expect.  A good friend once told me something I don’t think I’ll ever forget.  “Everyone says the first step is the hardest.  That’s bull shit!  The first step is the easiest! it’s the 2nd, 3rd, 4th, and so on steps that suck until you figure out what the hell you’re doing that are the hardest! and that’s why everyone is afraid to try something new because they don’t know what they’re doing!”

I totally agree.  The first step is deciding to make a change.  That’s an easy decision I don’t like this I’m going to change it.  Ok, then what?  Ohh yeah, that’s hard isn’t it?  That’s why a lot of people won’t move beyond the first step.  But you know what, if you can’t make that change then, the situation isn’t bothering you enough to change it.

Like most people, I’m not 100% happy with the way I look.  But, have I made a plan to change it and actually stuck to that plan?  No, because it doesn’t bother me that much.  I’m not 100% happy with the way I’m living my life and reaching my goals so have I made an attempt to change that and stick with it?  So far! I’m a few days into my challenge and I’m finding it easier every day.

Change is what you make it folks.  Don’t be so afraid of the unknown.  A lot of times it’s a lot easier than you ever thought it would be.  Other times, it’s a sheer pain in the ass and I won’t deny that.  But, where would you be today if you never changed anything in your life?  I’ll leave you on that thought.  Feel free to comment your stories of change and/or what you want to change.

Leave a Reply

